top of page

Foundation Awards $455,000 in Return-To-Service Scholarships To NB Medical Students

SAINT JOHN, N.B. - - - The New Brunswick Medical Education Foundation hosted its 13th annual scholarship celebration virtually on Thursday, October 20 at 7:00 PM. A record 66 scholarships were awarded to 65 New Brunswick medical students from all regions of the province, totaling $455,000.

The New Brunswick Medical Education Foundation presents a unique solution to physician recruitment: raising funds to provide scholarships to students, who stay and practice in New Brunswick. There is no comparable organization in Canada. Since the Foundation’s inception in 2010, it has supported 223 medical students through 413 bursaries worth over $2,000,000.

To date, 179 scholarship recipients have committed to practice medicine in New Brunswick following graduation; and 36 program alumni are currently practicing physicians in the province. It remains one of the most successful recruitment initiatives the province has seen.

Thursday’s event brought together a community of people invested in tomorrow’s healthcare. This includes an extraordinary group of medical students, generous donors, program alumni, community and business leaders, families, and friends. All share a common goal: to ensure all New Brunswickers can access quality healthcare services when they need them most.

About The New Brunswick Medical Education Foundation:

Established in 2010, the New Brunswick Medical Education Foundation is a private not-for-profit foundation which provides an innovative solution to physician recruitment in the province. The foundation extends return-to-service scholarships to talented New Brunswick medical students, ensuring a pipeline of future physicians are ready to practice in New Brunswick. For more information, or to donate, please visit:

2022 Board of Directors:

• Dr. Thomas Barry • Victor Boudreau • Carol Chapman (Co-Chair) • Jason Downey • Michael Doyle • Bernadette Fernandes • David Huestis • Nora Kelly • Dr. Allison Kennedy • Dr. Robert MacKinnon • Dr. James O’Brien • Ron Outerbridge • Dr. Michael Simon (Co-Chair)

Media Contact:

Alyssa Long, Executive Director

New Brunswick Medical Education Foundation

Office: 1 (506) 848-2109

Cell: 1 (506) 349-5053

39 views0 comments


bottom of page